Playing with Fire at Third Degree Glass Factory

It's JPei

Last week, I found out about Third Degree Glass Factory in St. Louis, a nifty place that opens up their space to the public every third Friday of the month. When I went last Friday, I got to see a fire show and glass-blowing demonstration for the first time.

When this is your first time seeing a fire show, you gotta front-row it:

Fire Tech Performance Third Degree Glass Factory Oooh, fire…

Fire Tech Performance Third Degree Glass Factory Look, ma!

Fire Tech Performance Third Degree Glass Factory I’m on fire, baby!

I tried experimenting with long exposure. It’s hard! It was difficult to get the moving performer’s face in focus and I didn’t have a tripod to get those super-long light trails. So this was the best I could do:

Fire Tech Performance Third Degree Glass Factory Ghosting

Fire Tech Performance Third Degree Glass Factory

Fire Tech Performance Third Degree Glass Factory

That first fire-breathing picture was nothing compared to the final blowout (haha):

Fire Tech Performance Third Degree Glass Factory

Next, I saw a bunch of really cool glass pieces inside the factory. If only I had $990 to spare… Actually though, who buys this stuff? Now I see where the term “starving…

View original post 165 more words

